The Books

In OLYMPIANS, author & illustrator George O’Connor draws from primary documents to reconstruct and retell classic Greek myths. But these stories aren’t sedate, scholarly works. They’re action-packed, fast-paced, high-drama adventures, with monsters, romance, and not a few huge explosions. O’Connor’s vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to undeniable life, in a perfect fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology.


Zeus: King of the Gods is the first book in Olympians, a graphic novel series from First Second that retells the Greek myths. This book is the story of how the ancient Greeks believed the world came into being, as well as the childhood and ascendancy of Zeus, who became the King of the Gods. From the first glimmer of existence to the world over which the gods on Mount Olympus reigned–see it all in Zeus: King of Gods.

Learn more…


Athena: Grey-Eyed Goddess is the second book in the Olympians series. This is the story of one of the most powerful of the Greek goddesses, Athena. She is the goddess of wisdom, peace, warfare, strategy, handcrafts, and reason. Learn of her origins and read about her greatest victories.

Learn more…


Hera: The Goddess and her Glory is the third book in the Olympians series. This book tells the story of Hera’s greatest moments, including her marriage to Zeus, her ascension to the throne of Mount Olympus, and Heracles’ twelve labors. Meet Hera before she became Zeus’ queen, and discover all of the problems that come along with being the queen of the Gods.

Learn more…


Hades: Lord of the Dead is the fourth book in the Olympians series. This is the story of Hades, the powerful king of the Underworld, and how he met his wife, Persephone. Brother to Zeus and Poseidon, Hades has always been a little bit different. Learn about how he became king of the Underworld, and why this dark place is his realm.

Learn more…


Poseidon: Earth Shaker is the fifth book in the Olympians series. This book is the story of Poseidon and his fearsome children the Cyclops Polyphemos and Theseus, who vanquished the Minotaur. Why does the god of the sea’s reach extend so far inland? Learn more about powerful Poseidon and his greatest feats.

Learn more…


Aphrodite: Goddess of Love is the sixth book in the Olympians series. This is the story of Aphrodite and the powerful sway she holds over Mount Olympus and the mortal realm. Why is Aphrodite said to be the oldest of all gods, and how did she come to be? Learn this and more, and meet her famous son, Eros, in Aphrodite.

Learn more…


Ares cover
Ares: God of War is the seventh book in the Olympians series. This book tells the exciting story of the Trojan War, and the Gods’ interference in this epic battle. War-lover Ares butts heads with Athena, goddess of military victory–and their conflict will have repercussions for generations to come.

Learn more…